A list of the 9 provinces of South Africa

Eastern Cape ProvinceFree State Province, Gauteng Province, KwaZulu-Natal Province, Limpopo Province, Mpumalanga Province, North West Province, Northern Cape Province, Western Cape Province

Before 1994 South Africa had 5 provinces. The biggest chances was to the Cape Province that was devided into the Eastern Cape, Northern Cape and Western Cape Province, also the Transvaal Province were devided into Gauteng, Mpumalanga and North West Province. For the rest it was mostly name changes, ie Natal Province became KwaZula-Natal Province and Northern Province became Limpopo Province.