Eastern Cape Province, Free State Province, Gauteng Province, KwaZulu-Natal Province, Mpumalanga Province, North West Province, Northern Cape Province, Western Cape Province

Limpopo Province Names, Regions and Tourism routes for Limpopo Province, South Africa

Limpopo Valley,
Valley of the Olifants

About Limpopo Province

  • Limpopo is the northern most province of South Africa.
  • The capital for the Limpopo Province is Polokwane, formerly named Pietersburg
  • The province were formerly known as Northern Transvaal and Northern Province
  • The province was named after the Limpopo river that form the border with Zimbabwe and Botswana

Limpopo Province Tourism

The Northern Province Tourism Board

Postal address: PO Box 2814, Pietersburg
Tel: 015 288 0099
Fax: 015 288 0094
E-mail: [email protected]

Name changes

The Northern Province has been renamed Limpopo Province in February 2002. Its capital Pietersburg has been renamed Polokwane (meaning “place of safety”).

Also changed are the following:

Bochum to Senwabarwana
Ellisras to Lephalale
Messina to Musina (means “copper”)
Nylstroom to Modimolle (place of spirits)
Phalaborwa to Ba-Phalaborwa
Potgietersrus to Mokopane (named after the 1850s chief of the Tlou tribe)
Warmbaths to Bela-Bela (means “boiling place”)
Other place names that will change are:

Dendron to Mogwadi
Duiwelskloof to Ngoako Ramalepe
Hoedspuit to Marulaneng
Louis Trichardt to Makhado
Naboomspuit to Mookgopong
Soekmekaar to Morbeng

Last updated on 2015/05/12

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *